'Reading a book is like re-writing it for yourself. You bring to a novel, anything you read, all your experience of the world. You bring your history and you read it in your own terms.'- Angela Carter

Saturday, 1 February 2014

January Blog Recap

Matt Haig at RH Blogger Brunch
So January has been another pretty hectic month for me! I had a mini holiday in London with my partner and attended Random House's Blogger Brunch. It was absolutely fantastic and I cannot wait to go to more of them. Everyone that works there are absolutely lovely and I chatted to a few very nice fellow bloggers! We got given copies of Bird by Crystal Chan, Echo Boy by Matt Haig, The Name on Your Wrist by Helen Hiorns and Running Girl by Simon Mason. They had a guest attendance of Matt Haig who was absolutely brilliant. He was very open and entertaining and kindly took the time out to sign everyone's copies of Echo Boy. Alongside the Blogger Brunch I also started a job as a part time librarian at a college. It's great to have a bookish job to put on my CV :).

Bloggers and Matt Haig @ RH Blogger Brunch
I'm at the back on the right!
Photo provided by Jasmine Joynson


January: read and reviewed 13 books
Autumn Rose (The Dark Heroine, #2)Hostage ThreeMother, MotherA Breath of Frost (The Lovegrove Legacy, #1)The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex, #1)The Seers (Holders, #2)Will Grayson, Will GraysonThe Book ThiefFracture (Fracture, #1)Vengeance (Fracture, #2)BirdUninvited (Uninvited, #1)Beauty
The Seers - Julianna Scott (review coming 06/02)
Book of the Month
The Murder Complex - Lindsay Cummings
The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex, #1)
An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

This book is YA at its absolute best. It's bloody, terrifying, psychological and I really couldn't get enough of it. It's one hell of a debut and I'm really looking forward to reading more from this lady! 

February Goals

- Read A Song of Ice and Fire series
- Write up a few discussion posts
- Participate more in TTT and Showcase Sunday  i.e. get out of this slump!


How about you guys? How was your January? :)

2 comments:

  1. You had such a blast! :D So happy for you!
    And I really look forward to The Murder Complex. Looks and sounds so good! ASSASSINS! My new favorite book theme :D Also, thieves. :P *wink*
    I hope you manage to battle through ASoIaF, they are brilliant and I love the books so so much. <3

    ReplyDelete
  2. A Holiday in London AND attending a Blogger Event sounds truly fantastic - wow, you had an exciting January!! Oh and congrats on the librarian gig, that sounds SWEET ♥ I'm hoping to read A Breath of Frost and The Seers soon so I'm saving your reviews of those until after :) Have a very happy February and good luck with all your goals!! xx

    ReplyDelete

Please leave a comment, I love reading each and every one of them :).
This blog is an award free zone. Thank you for your thoughtfulness and I appreciate them :).